• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Buried in cloud files? We can help with Spring cleaning!

    Whether you use Dropbox, Drive, G-Suite, OneDrive, Gmail, Slack, Notion, or all of the above, Dokkio will organize your files for you. Try Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) for free today.

  • Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) was #2 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.


Caspary, Vera

Page history last edited by Elizabeth Foxwell 13 years, 5 months ago

Vera Caspary (1899-1987) was a prominent female writer. She was born and educated in Chicago and married producer IG Goldsmith in 1949. She wrote novels, screenplays, plays, and short stories. Her 1943 novel Laura was turned into a highly successful movie directed by Otto Preminger.


Caspary's first novels, largely stories of plucky young women fending for themselves, lacked the element of mystery that sparked her greatest success. Then, starting with Laura and Bedelia and continuing through The Man Who Loved His Wife, she created a string of mystery novels characterized by psychological menace. Evidently tiring of the genre, she wrote longer novels at the end of her career and used multiple protagonists. Her late work includes The Rosecrest Cell (about American communists) and The Dreamers. She also wrote a brief autobiography, the Edgar-nominated The Secrets of Grown-ups.




Laura (1943)

Bedelia (1945)

The Lady in Mink (1946) aka The Murder in the Stork Club

Stranger than Truth (1947)

The Death Wish (1951) aka The Weeping and the Laughter

Thelma (1953)

False Face (1954)

The Husband (1957)

Evvie (1960)

A Chosen Sparrow (1964)

The Man Who Loved His Wife (1966)

The Rosecrest Cell (1968)

Final Portrait (1971)

Ruth (1972)

Elizabeth X (1978) aka The Secret of Elizabeth (1979)

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.