• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Finally, you can manage your Google Docs, uploads, and email attachments (plus Dropbox and Slack files) in one convenient place. Claim a free account, and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) can automatically organize your content for you.


Clevely, Hugh

Page history last edited by PBworks 12 years, 5 months ago
Hugh Clevely, who wrote also under the pseudonym of Tod Claymore, was born in Bristol in 1898. He was educated by his uncle, a vicar, and spent his early life in the vicarage. He obtained a pilot's license before the last war, was active in the RAF and finished the war as wing-commander. He died in 1964.


Clevely was one of the dozens of authors who wrote for the story paper The Thriller in the 1930s, a paper that made famous The Saint by Charteris, Leslie, The Toff and The Baron by Creasey, John and the Norman Conquest novels of Gray, Berkeley. But in addition to many authors nearly unknown today The Thriller published stories by Wallace, Edgar, Christie, Agatha, Allingham, Margery and other names still famous. Clevely wrote more than thirty titles for this influential paper and in addition several novels with serial characters, among them John Martinson “the Gang-Smasher" and Inspector Williams of Scotland Yard. As Tod Claymore, he wrote another nine mysteries, all with a series character named Tod Claymore. After the war Clevely contributed about a dozen titles to the hugely popular Sexton Blake series.


The following bibliography does not include the contributions to The Thriller and the Sexton Blake Series.



As Hugh Clevely

The Gang Smasher (1928)

The Man with the Amber Eyes (1928)

Fraser Butts In (1929)

Hell to Pay! aka Call the Yard! (1930)

Gang Law (1931)

Further Outlook Unsettled (1932)

Dark Eyes and Danger (1934)

Mr Munt Carries On (1934)

The Wrong Murderer (1935)

Amateur Crook (1936)

Death’s Counterfeit (1937)

Zero the 14th (1937)

Archer Plus Twenty (1938)

The Gang Smasher Again (1938)

Three Wooden Overcoats (1939)

No Peace for Archer (1947)

More Trouble for Archer (1949)

Not Nice People (1950)

Blood and Thunder (1951)

Public Enemy (1953)

Somebody Killed Kelvin (1953)

The Wind Was Cold (1955)

The Wolf That Follows aka Turning Point (1955)


As Tod Claymore

You Remember the Case aka This Is What happened (1939)

Ships with Wings (1942)

Speedwell (1946)

Nest of Vipers (1948)

What Else Could I Do? (1948)

Appointment in New Orleans (1950)

Reunion in Florida (1952)

Dead Men Don’t Answer (1954)

Rendezvous on an Island (1957)

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.