• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Wentworth, Patricia

Page history last edited by Jon 11 years, 12 months ago

Patricia WentworthPatricia Wentworth was the pseudonym of Doris Amy Elles Dillon Turnbull (1878-1961). She was born in India and educated in England. On her return to India she published her first work and married Lieutenant Colonel George Dillon. On his death in 1906 she returned to England with a daughter and three stepsons. In 1920 she married Lieutenant Colonel George Turnbull, who helped with her writing.


After writing historical fiction, she moved to mysteries in 1923, and invented Miss Silver -- an ex-governess who became a private investigator to supplement her retirement income -- in 1928. After 1945 all her books featured Miss Silver.



The Fire Within (1913)

The Astonishing Adventure of Jane Smith (1923)

The Annam Jewel (1924)

The Red Lacquer Case (1924)

The Black Cabinet (1925)

The Dower House Mystery (1925)

The Amazing Chance (1926)

Anne Belinda (1927)

Hue and Cry (1927)

Grey Mask (1928)

Will o' the Wisp (1928)

Fool Errant (1929)

Beggar's Choice (1930)

The Coldstone (1930)

Kingdom Lost (1930)

Danger Calling (1931)

Nothing Venture (1932)

Red Danger aka Red Shadow (1932)

Seven Green Stones aka Outrageous Fortune (1933)

Walk with Care (1933)

Devil in the Dark aka Touch and Go (1934)

Fear by Night (1934)

Blindfold (1935)

Red Stefan (1935)

Dead or Alive (1936)

Hole and Corner (1936)

The Case Is Closed (1937)

Down Under (1937)

Mr Zero (1938)

Run! (1938)

Lonesome Road (1939)

The Blind Side (1939)

Rolling Stone (1940)

Who Pays the Piper? aka Account Rendered (1940)

Danger Point aka In the Balance (1941)

Unlawful Occasions aka Weekend with Death (1941)

Pursuit of a Parcel (1942)

The Chinese Shawl (1943)

Miss Silver Intervenes aka Miss Silver Deals with Death (1943)

The Clock Strikes Twelve (1944)

The Key (1944)

The Traveller Returns aka She Came Back (1945)

Silence in Court (1945)

Pilgrim´s Rest aka Dark Threat (1946)

Latter End (1947)

Spotlight aka Wicked Uncle (1947)

Eternity Ring (1948)

The Case of William Smith (1948)

Miss Silver Comes to Stay (1949)

The Catherine Wheel (1949)

Through the Wall (1950)

The Brading Collection aka Mr Brading´s Collection (1950)

The Ivory Dagger (1951)

Anna, Where Are You? aka Death at Deep End (1951)

The Watersplash (1951)

Ladies´ Bane (1952)

Out of the Past (1953)

Vanishing Point (1953)

The Benevent Treasure (1953)

The Silent Pool (1954)

The Listening Eye (1955)

Poison in the Pen (1955)

The Gazebo aka The Summerhouse (1956)

The Fingerprint (1956)

The Alington Inheritance (1958)

The Girl in the Cellar (1961)


Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.